Airtel’s Rip off GPRS plans

Airtel India has gone from bad to worst in terms of GPRS pricing. At a time when the data service usages are increasing by leaps and bounds in other countries, Airtel has committed a biggest blunder by introducing some new plans which turn out to be very expensive. The erstwhile Mobile Office plan gives way to three new plans which are priced at INR 399, 599 and 799. The first plan offers 100 MB of data transfer while the last one offers a GB. 100 MB data transfer is just a joke and is not suitable for anyone. While the 799 plan looks like a good option, the presence of a max cap on the data transfer makes it a risky proposition.
The former Mobile Office plan is no longer available for subscription, which is very disappointing since it offered unlimited data transfer at just INR 600. Thankfully, customers who are currently subscribed to this plan will continue enjoying the service!

5 thoughts on “Airtel’s Rip off GPRS plans

  1. After a month long experience of using the Airtel Mobile Office service, I can say for sure
    that Airtel happens to be one of the worst service providers in the country. The word
    “Mobile Office” refers to the non-existant fictional net connection provided to gullible
    customers at an exhorbitant price.

    The data transfer speed is below .5 kbps at any given time and a ping of http://www.google.com
    produces 100% data loss. It is really strange that Airtel pompously announces that it has no
    data transfer limits when practically no data transfer happens at all.

    The Airtel customer support is a whole new experiance. When I complained that my Mobile
    Office connection is slow, the technical support person told me to wait for the send bytes
    count to reach 10000 before launching my browser.

    If it doesnt hit you in the face, this solution is just absurd. I know it because I am a
    technical support executive taking calls from the US. He could fool anybody with this, but
    not a guy like me who troubleshoots systems over the phone for a living. Well, I did try it
    out anyway, and as I expected – the send bytes count never goes above 5000 and also by this
    time, Airtel automatically disconnects me.

    The next time I called to complain, the Airtel support person asked me how much I paid for
    the connection and as soon as I replied, disconnected me! I have’nt been able to connect to
    Airtel Customer Service after that. I realise that it is ok to ban abusive customers, but
    banning irate customers who use proper language is unheard of. And all I wanted to ask was
    if I would get a proper net connection if I pay more.

    I do freelance writing for websites besides my steady job and I just lost a major project
    because I could not log on to my email account.

    I tried for about an hour in the evening trying to log on, repeatedly refreshing the page
    and waiting like an obsessed idiot wishing that my inbox would open up and show me the
    project requirements. When it did finally open, I found that my agent got sick of waiting
    for my acknowledgement on email and awarded the project to someone else.

    Hell, if you have 300 bucks to spend on something that doesnt work, Airtel Mobile Office is
    the thing for you! But, why dont change the 300 rupees into tens and burn it all? That would
    be more worthwhile.

    (So says the Raven, Cochin)

  2. I wanna buy a new mobile with gprs and mp3 and radio facility. Pls advice me about which mobile to buy, and which mobile service should I have for phone and gprs. I live in delhi, noida and I want connectivity in NCR.

  3. Airtel mobile offiece sucks bigtime !
    I am using it.
    It disconnects after every 10 mins. Connection stays alive but nothing works after 10 mins.

Leave a Reply

