Sorely missing the Core

Looks like I need some catching up to do in the Linux world. When I wakeup after a few months, I discover that I have missed the Gnome 2.8 release and the upcoming Fedora Core 3. Considering that I took great pains to hand compile the Gnome 2.6 release (using gargnome), it came as a real shock for me to see that 2.8 is out and 3.0 is on its way. In the meantime, I have been reading about the new 3D UI that many people are talking about and the stabilization of the 2.6 kernel. (Slackware still ships with 2.4 as the default kernel !).

 

I have to admit (rather shamefully) that my laptop currently has Xandros as the Linux boot. Sometime back I got a CD of Xandros installation with a tech magazine. It made its way into my laptop as a test drive, but it had overstayed not because I liked it, but because I am not doing any Linux ‘thing’ for the last few months.

 

A couple of more software got installed on my lappy over the weekend. I installed Blender, just to try a few 3D things. I have some idea for the apple smartphone (If at all they make one). Once I model that, I will send it to Apple and get them pay a few millions for it, thus becoming rich enough to buy an iPod. LOL. The other one is Together community edition from Borland. Didn’t get much time to play with it though.

 

Leave a Reply

