107036168279002578

Mandrake Magic

Well, got the Mandrake 9.2 CD from linux central today. (ordered on Nov 17th). Installation was a breeze – typical mandrake style. During my custom package selection, I always used to turn the KOffice package off. But this time, Mandrake has already done it for me – A welcome surprise.

During installation, the installer did not allow a s selection of 1680×1050 resolution, which is my Compaq x1000’s native reolution. So I left the default value, but surprisingly X booted with 1680×1050.

The one that really pissed me off was the mute button. Mandrake always booted with the mute button in muted state and there was no way of toggling it. Read some threads in X1000Forums and solved this issue.

Probably today Ill try connecting my reliance phone for dial up connection to R connect.

Leave a Reply

